Vonnegut Express

In light of my recent reading of the Vonnegut biography, I have purchased a few Vonnegut goodies from the good folk at Avid Reader. The first being a collation of 90second WNYC public radio grabs in which Mr Vonnegut is temporarily sent to the afterlife (and, importantly brought back) in order to conduct a series of choice interviews about life and death.

It also gives me the opportunity to raise an issue that has been bothering me for some time. I have a growing library of short fiction anthologies and magazines which will be aired over time. But how do I do them justice in this space? 

Would love if you could make suggestions in the comments but for now, here is what I have come up with.

Characters: Kurt Vonnegut, Dr Kervorkian, Lethal Injection Facility (Huntsville, Texas), Adolf Hitler, Sir Isaac Newton, William Shakespeare, Kilgore Trout, Isaac Asmirov and so on.

Tone: Conversational, first person, intimate.

Quintessence: I asked this heroic pet lover how it felt to have died for a schnauzer named Teddy. Salvador Biagini was philosophical. He said it sure as heck beat dying for absolutely nothing in the Viet Nam War.

7 responses to “Vonnegut Express

  1. God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian is on my list–and has been for over a year now. Intro from Neil Gaiman makes it a no brainer.

    • It’s a pretty speedy read, I wish I had more of it. Speaking of Neil Gaiman, he has been on my list for ages. The question I have is, do I start with American Gods?

      • American Gods is a tricky, yet delicious read. I started his books with Anansi Boys, and then rapidly went through the remainders. American Gods is also quite good on audio.

        • Noted. I’ve had quite a few Gaiman recommendations from the last post I did on The Handmaid’s Tale, so I think American Gods has climbed a few levels on the list! Perhaps Christmas holidays (which for me start in about 2 months time, squeee!).

  2. Pingback: A Funny Thing Happened On My Way To Buy My Required Reading… | Old, new or true·

  3. I love God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian. What I really want to do is get a hold of the audio recordings, because they were actually broadcast on NPR. I would love to hear them in his own voice.

Your thoughts?

