A Funny Thing Happened On My Way To Buy My Required Reading…

In a few weeks, I’ll be attending my very first book club afternoon and in order to do so I needed to acquire a copy of The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. In other words, I had to visit Avid Reader this morning, which meant, as we know, that I was unlikely to leave the store with just one book. I really had resolved that I would – austerity (studentdom) and all that – but look what else I found!

I didn’t know Zadie Smith had a new novel in the pipeline. The striking NW arrived in store yesterday. Hello September! Having been introduced to White Teeth at an extremely young age (and never quite forgetting the pigeon and meat cleaver incident) I’ve been waiting since finishing her last published novel, On Beauty, in 2005 for such a welcome treat. Ms Smith has written many a short piece since then, including The Book of Other People, a collection of short stories, but her novels have a special place in my post-childhood reading world. I’m very excited about this one!

In the absence of a published review from a major media outlet to refer you to (there doesn’t seem to be one yet? ), I have found these goodies for you to enjoy until you can get your hands on a copy of NW.

  • An interview with Zadie Smith about the NW, its people and places and on keeping it short, featured in The New Yorker in July.
    This week in fiction: Zadie Smith, written by Cressida Leyshon @ The New Yorker
  • An extract from NW featured in The Guardian this week.
    NW by Zadie Smith – Extract
  • A lovely Zadie Smith piece lamenting the pending demise of her local bookstore and library and its broader significance.
    The North West London Blues, written by Zadie Smith @ The New York Review of Books (Blog)

I’ve written a few other posts about Kurt Vonnegut recently, so I won’t babble on about Galápagos today. It goes in and out of stock quicker than twinkle lights at christmas time. If you see it, Snatch it Up! I’ll review it for you very soon.

4 responses to “A Funny Thing Happened On My Way To Buy My Required Reading…

  1. I read The Handmaid’s Tale a couple of years ago. Very good dystopian novel. It would be interesting to discuss it in the context of the current political discussion surrounding women’s health.

  2. I absolutely LOVE going to a bookstore for something specific and coming home with something else! Haha! I noticed Smith came out of hiding, and I can’t wait to read your review! (btw, I dig the new theme. very nice).

    • I am liking the theme too but it’s much higher maintenance than my old one…I had to learn new things :s I think a lot of my favourite books have been found in the process of looking for something else! Smith review not too far away (had to read the book club book first).

  3. Pingback: NW. Now What? | Old, new or true·

Your thoughts?

