Literary Offerings For A Splendid Occasion!

It is difficult to even begin to express how exciting the last few days have been with being told I would be Freshly Pressed, waiting for it to happen and reading all the comments that have been flowing in since it has.

It’s so lovely to hear from all of you and I am looking forward to the weekend when I can do your comments and blogs the reading justice they, and indeed you, deserve for having given up even a moment of your precious time to visit mine.

In the meantime, I thought I would put together a bit of a welcome and celebratory smorgasbord for you all, made up of recently published pieces of fiction and opinion that you may not have had time to read or seek out. I do this sometimes. This way we can share them, I can keep a record of them for myself and you can have my word that they are worth a read…if that counts for anything.

So, little gems of writing for the week (far better than my humble FP’ed book review):

An Open Letter to Wikipedia, written by Philip Roth at The New Yorker in which he defends his legitimacy as a source to correct the inaccuracies in the entry for “The Human Stain”. In addition to being a highly entertaining open letter, there’s quite a bit of insight into his writing process.

I know why Bret Easton Ellis hates David Foster Wallace, written by Gerald Howard for Salon.com. Gerald Howard was actually an editor for both authors in the 80s. It’s not every day that this kind of ‘insider information’ is published and it’s an intriguing point of view on both of these personalities.

The Disappeared: How The Fatwa Changed a Writer’s Life, written by Salman Rushdie for The New Yorker. I doubt I can say anything here that won’t make you more curious than the title and author.

Amundsen, a short story written by Alice Munro, published in The New Yorker. Such beautiful writing.

And last, but by no means least, a tribute to the young lady whose writing and blog gave me the energy to make something of mine. If you haven’t already come across Bluebird Boulevard and Courtenay Bluebird, I am thrilled to be able to introduce you. She is a highly talented and diverse freelance writer blogging very polished pieces of poetry, prose and photography alongside carefully selected ‘5 Minute Dance Parties’ and splendid humour.

Thank you all for being part of this moment. It really has been like Christmas.

12 responses to “Literary Offerings For A Splendid Occasion!

    • Thanks DL! I’m still going on the replies, it’s unbelievable!! Such great motivation though. Will have to come by and catch up on your posts soon. Looks like you’ve been working hard!

  1. Congratulations on the well-deserved Fresh Pressing!
    Bluey is very inspiring, isn’t she ๐Ÿ™‚ I know she will be embarassed now we are talking about her so glowingly.

Your thoughts?

